A controversial call during the Detroit Lions vs. Dallas Cowboys game on Saturday night has sparked a major debate in the sports world. Taylor Decker, the Lions’ left tackle, was at the center of this controversy after being penalized for an “illegal touching” call that negated what would have been a game-winning two-point conversion catch.

The confusion began when Decker, wearing number 68, reported himself as eligible to head referee Brad Allen. However, in a critical error, Allen informed the Cowboys of the wrong player. He told them it was Dan Skipper, number 70, who was the eligible receiver, not Decker. This mistake was confirmed by Decker, Skipper, quarterback Jared Goff, and Lions head coach Dan Campbell.

As a result, Decker’s catch in the end zone, which would have put the Lions ahead, was nullified, leading to widespread criticism of the referee’s decision. This call, now regarded as a clear error, has become a hot topic in sports circles.

Here’s how the rest of the sports world reacted on social media:

Even a Dallas Cowboys fan with the feels:


For more from our Detroit Lions beat writer, Matt Broder, check him out on Twitter here: @mattbro21

Contact: Broder@woodwardsports.com

Tweet: @WoodwoodSports or comment on your favorite social media platform!

The Woodward Sports Shop has ALL NEW Apparel – check it out here!

Original Photo Credit: © Junfu Han / USA TODAY NETWORK

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Leave A Comment

By Published On: December 31st, 2023Categories: Detroit Lions, NFL

Detroit’s First All Digital Sports Network!

Listen to Your Favorite Shows LIVE each and every weekday. Download the Woodward Sports App Today!